2022 BOD Election

About the 2022 RSS BOD Election

This year, there are two open seats on the RSS Board of Directors (BOD). Professional Members of the Radiosurgery Society® (RSS) are hereby notified that two candidates have been nominated to run for the open seats on the BOD during the 2022 RSS Board of Directors Election. Each Board seat is a three-year term, beginning April 1, 2022, through March 31, 2025.

All Professional Members of the RSS who are in good standing* as of January 19, 2022, will be eligible to vote. Online voting will commence on January 20, 2022, and will close at 5:00 pm Pacific Daylight Time on March 18, 2022. 

On January 20, 2022, electronic ballots were emailed to all eligible RSS Members. If you do not receive your ballot, please contact us.

To verify your eligibility:

  • Log-in to your account on www.therss.org/login
  • Visit the My Profile Page
  • Check your membership type*
  • Check your renewal date and if past due, ensure your dues are paid

Meet the Candidates


Dr. John Kresl is an internationally recognized expert in stereotactic radiosurgery and stereotactic body radiotherapy and has been Visiting Professor at a number of medical centers and universities in the USA and abroad and is frequently an invited lecturer at seminars throughout the world. Dr. Kresl serves as the current Medical Director of the Phoenix CyberKnife and Radiation Oncology Center, Palo Verde Cancer Specialists, Radiation Oncologists of Central Arizona (ROCA) and is the Chief Medical Officer for Select Healthcare. He has served as Co-medical Director of the CyberKnife & Gamma Knife Programs and Assistant Director for the Center for Thoracic Disease at St. Joseph’s Hospital & Medical Center and Barrow Neurological Institute in Phoenix, Arizona until 2008, and Medical Director of the Department of Radiation Oncology at Banner University Medical Center-Phoenix, Arizona until 2018, and Chief Medical Director for Alliance Oncology, Irvine, California until 2011. Dr. Kresl maintains an active clinical practice in radiation oncology for all tumor sites.

Dr. Kresl has served as the principal investigator and co-investigator on clinical protocol investigations and has published more than 225 abstracts, manuscripts, book chapters and textbooks related to the field of radiation oncology and the discipline of radiosurgery/SBRT. He also was or remains the editor/editorial reviewer for several textbooks and publications. Dr. Kresl’s involvement in oncology research has led to two registered U.S. patents for novel methods of diagnosing and treating cancer, and co-founding of two biotech companies.

Dr. Kresl is Certified by the American Board of Radiology in Radiation Oncology and is the current Treasurer and Executive Board Member of the Radiosurgery Society (RSS), member of the Healthcare Policy and Code Utilization and Applications Committee for ASTRO. Dr. Kresl is a past chairman of the ASTRO Workforce Committee, and past member of the ASTRO Health Policy Council, Scientific Program Committee and Research Council.


Dr. Simon Lo is Professor and Vice-Chair for Strategic Planning of Radiation Oncology and Professor of Neurological Surgery as well as the Director of SBRT at the University of Washington Department of Radiation Oncology. He is also the Co-chair of the Appointment and Promotion Committee and a member of the leadership team for Leading Academic Participating Site of NCTN, Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center.

Dr. Lo has edited 8 textbooks with 5 comprehensive textbooks in SRS/SBRT and published close to 240 full peer-reviewed papers, a majority of which focusing on SRS/SBRT for all body sites and has led the SBRT programs in 3 NCI-designated Comprehensive Cancer Centers. He has led or participated in numerous practice guidelines in SRS/ SBRT, brain metastases, primary brain tumors, spinal metastases, and bone metastases. Dr. Lo was also a member of the American Board of Radiology CNS/ pediatrics committee. He is a co-founder and core member of International Radiosurgery Oncology Consortium for Kidney (IROCK). He is the Immediate Past President of CARROS (Radiation Oncology Chapter) and the Assistant Councilor (American Radium Society Representative) of American College of Radiology. He is the Radiation Therapy Panel Chair for the AANS/ CNS low-grade glioma guidelines. Dr. Lo currently serves on the 2022 RSS Annual Scientific Meeting Planning Committee and is a Member of the Board of Directors and the Medical Director of the ACRO-RSS Distinction in Practice in Stereotactic Radiotherapy Accreditation Program.

* Members In Good Standing

Per the Bylaws, Section 2.05, Members in Good Standing are Professional Members (those who are in the following categories: Professional Physician, Professional Non-Physician, Professional Resident/Trainee) who have paid the required dues, fee, and assessments if any, and who are not suspended.

Check Your Membership Status.