Functional Radiosurgery Working Group

About the Functional Neurosurgery Working Group

The Radiosurgery Society® (RSS) has made a collaborative effort to create a Functional Radiosurgery Working Group to address the clinical and scientific facets of functional radiosurgery therapies, with the goal of conducting research to advance clinical treatments for patients. Members of the Functional Radiosurgery Working Groups are experts in the fields of neurosurgery, radiation oncology, medical physics, neurology, neuroradiology and psychiatry who work collectively to understand the clinical, technical and physical parameters of stereotactic radiosurgery (SRS) for the treatment of functional diseases.

Working Group Members:


  • Pantaleo Romanelli, MD
    Renaissance Institute, Winter Park,FL

Group Members

  • John Adler, MD
    CEO Zap Surgical Systems, Co-Editor-in-Chief, Cureus Inc, San Francisco, CA
  • David Anschel, MD, DAPN -N-E-CB, FACNS
    New York University School of Medicine, Good Samaritan Hospital, St. Charles Hospital, Port Jefferson, NY
  • Stan Benedict, PhD, FAAPM
    University of California at Davis, Comprehensive Cancer Center Department of Radiation Oncology, Sacramento, CA
  • Shyam Singh Bisht, MD
    Medanta Cancer Institute, Gurgaon, India
  • Markus Bredel, MD, PhD
    University of Alabama at Birmingham, Birmingham, AL
  • Bhargava S. Chitti, MD
    Northwell Health, Queens, NY
  • Alfredo Conti, MD, PhD, FEBNS
    Alma Mater University of Bologna, Italy, Bologna, Italy
  • Maria Cristina Frassanito, PhD
    Cyberknife Center, Mater Dei Hospital, Bari, Italy
  • Yoshinori Higuchi, MD, PhD
    Department of Neurological Surgery, Chiba University Graduate School of Medicine, Chiba, Japan
  • Marc Levivier, MD, PhD, IFAANS
    CHUV - Lausanne University Hospital, Lausanne, Switzerland
  • Eduardo Lovo, MD
    International Cancer Center Group, Central America
  • Andres Lozano, MD, PhD, FRCSC, FRSC, FCAHS
    Division of Neurosurgery, University Health Network, University of Toronto, Toronto, Canada
  • Erik Middlebrooks, MD
    Mayo Clinic College of Medicine and Science, Jacksonville, FL
  • Susan C. Pannullo, MD, FAANS, FAAN
    New York Presbyterian Hospital/Weill Cornell Medicine, New York, NY; Cornell University College of Engineering, Ithaca, NY
  • Vatsal B. Patel, MD, MBA, DABR
    United Health Group, Las Vegas, NV
  • Selcuk Peker, MD
    Koç University School of Medicine, Istanbul, Turkey
  • Richard Popple, PhD
    The University of Alabama at Birmingham, School of Medicine - Radiation Oncology, Birmingham, AL
  • David Schlesinger, PhD
    UVA Gamma Knife Center, Charlottesville, VA
  • Brett Schneider, MD
    Chief Medical Officer, Zap Surgical, Stanford University, San Carlos, CA
  • Michael Schulder, MD
    Department of Neurosurgery Zucker School of Medicine at Hofstra/Northwell, New Hyde Park, NY
  • Helen Shih, MD, Ms, MPH, FASTRO
    Massachusetts General Hospital, Harvard Medical School,Boston, MA
  • Konstantin V. Slavin, MD
    Department of Neurosurgery, University of Illinois at Chicago, Chicago, IL
  • Evan Thomas, MD, PhD
    OSU Department of Radiation Oncology, Columbus, OH
  • Harrison Walker, MD
    Division of Movement Disorders, University of Alabama at Birmingham, Birmingham, AL

Industry Representatives

  • Seth Blacksburg, MD, MBA
    Chief Medical Officer, Accuray
  • Vincent Denot
    VP and Head of Product Management Neuro Solutions, Elekta
  • Kristine H. Gagliardi
    Chief Strategy Officer, Zap Surgical
  • Raymond A. Schulz, MSc
    Director, Global Radiosurgery Programs | Office of Medical Affairs, Varian, A Siemens Healthineers Company

Program Coordinator

Wendy Burman

Interested in Learning More about the Functional Neurosurgery Working Group?

Click Here